State Support for National Debt Relief Amendment

PrintFriendly and PDF

Confirmed on Friday, 25 February 2011 – courtesy of James Booth of and continued from “States Pursue New Tactic to Restrain Federal Debt.”

  1. North Dakota – Passed in the Senate in a bi-partisan floor vote of 31-16; in the House for final passage.  Sen. Curtis Olafson (R – Edinburg, N.D.) is the bill’s prime sponsor.
  2. Arizona – Has passed out of the Senate Committee and Majority Senate Caucus.  Senate will schedule a floor vote soon. Sen. John Kavanagh (R – Fountain Hills, Ariz.) and Sen. Nancy Barto (R – Phoenix, Ariz.) are the prime sponsors.
  3. Missouri – Out of committee and awaiting House floor vote with 44 co-sponsors, including 34 Republicans and 10 Democrats.  Rep. Chuck Gatschenberger (R – Lake St. Louis, Mo.) is the prime sponsor.
  4. Indiana – Bill entered in the Senate, but not yet heard by committee.  Sen. Dennis Kruse (R – Fort Wayne, Ind.) is the prime sponsor.
  5. Utah – Defeated in Committee by a tied vote, but Rep. Brad Daw (R – Orem, Utah), the prime sponsor, is pursuing alternative strategies.
  6. Louisiana – Rep. Kirk Talbot (R – River Ridge, La.) has agreed to introduce the bill along with Rep. Nick Lorusso (R – New Orleans, La.).
  7. Pennsylvania – Rep. Garth Everett (R – Muncy, Pa.) filed the bill. He awaits its committee assignment.
  8. Tennessee – Sen. Bill Ketron (R – Murfreesboro, Tenn.) is the prime sponsor. He awaits committee assignment.
  9. New Hampshire –  Rep. Cameron DeJong (R – Manchester, N.H.) plans to introduce the bill, but many other New Hampshire legislators have also expressed interest.
  10. Michigan – Rep Tom McMillin (R – Oakland Township, Mich.) is finalizing resolution language with the Goldwater Institute for introduction of the bill.