Uncategorized

Introducing TweetLouisiana.org!

PrintFriendly and PDF

Many members of Congress use Twitter to directly communicate with constituents, activists, and media sources. For example, Governor Bobby Jindal “tweets” on his activities to folks “following” him on Twitter. More and more legislators at the federal and state level are beginning to utilize this important new media tool as well. That’s why the Pelican Institute for Public Policy has created TweetLouisiana.org. At its core, TweetLouisiana.org is a two-way portal to connect and directly communicate with legislators via Twitter. Visitors to TweetLouisiana.org are able to:

  • Follow the “tweets” (updates) of elected officials using Twitter
  • Get the latest news and commentary on Louisiana politics from other Twitter users
  • Comment on what is happening in the legislature
  • Send legislators a message
  • See the feed of “tweets” from all elected officials

Elected officials are already using Twitter to get their message out. They include:

Name Twitter ID

Governor Bobby Jindal @bobbyjindal
U.S. Senator David Vitter @davidvitter
U.S. Representative Joseph Cao @anhjosephcao
U.S. Representative William Cassidy @drcassidy
U.S. Representative John Fleming @repfleming
U.S. Representative Charlie Melancon @melancon2010
Representative Neil Abramson @neilabramson
Representative Austin Badon Jr @austinbadon
Representative Cedric Richmond @cedricrichmond
Representative Walker Hines @walkerhines
Representative John LaBruzzo @johnlabruzzo
State Senator Sharon Broome @westonbroome